February 1, 2023
Trending Tags

Trinity Thomas heads to L.A. for 2022 Honda Sports Award ceremony

Read Time:5 Minute, 54 Second

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – University of Florida gymnast Trinity Thomas is in Los Angeles, as she joins the other sport winners for The Collegiate Women Sports Award presented by Honda show. The Honda Sports Award is given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports.
On Monday’s broadcast, the 12 sport winners from 12 different schools are narrowed to three finalists. One receives the Honda Cup as the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.
One Gator has twice been named the top collegiate female athlete of the year. Gator Great swimmer Tracy Caulkins shared the 1983-84 Broderick Cup (previous name of award) with Southern California’s Cheryl Miller and also won as a freshman in 1981-82. In 2015, Gator softball’s Lauren Haeger was among the final three for the honor. A Gator has been named their sport’s winner 26 times since 1978.
Want to Watch? Here’s How:
The Collegiate Women Sports Award presented by Honda airs Monday, June 27 at 9 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network.
Here’s how to tune in:
269 – Cox Cable (Gainesville/Ocala)
158 – Dish Network
CBS Sports Network app
How was Thomas selected?
After the conclusion of each of the 12 recognized sport seasons, the Honda Sport Award sends a ballot with four sport finalists to administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.
A Gator gymnast has claimed the Honda Award six of the last 11 years. Gator Greats Bridget Sloan (2013, 2016), Kytra Hunter (2012, 2015) and Alex McMurtry (2017) also received the Honda Award for gymnastics. The first Gator gymnast to receive the honor was Ann Woods in 1982.
Thomas’ 2022 Season
All-around winner in every 2022 post-season meet, Thomas won the NCAA title by equaling the meet record of 39.8125 set by UF’s last Honda Award winner, Alex McMurtry, in 2017.
In the NCAA team final, Thomas’ winning all-around total of 39.8625 equals the second-highest ever in NCAA competition. The 10.0 in the NCAA team final was her fourth consecutive perfect floor exercise mark – all coming in NCAA regional or NCAA final site competition.
Here’s some more highlights from Thomas’ 2022 season:

  • NCAA all-around (39.8125), uneven bars (9.975) and floor exercise (10.0) champion. Ninth gymnast in NCAA 40-year history to win three individual wins in a single championship.
  • Won every post-season all-around – NCAA Final, NCAA Semifinal, NCAA Regional Final, NCAA Second Round and Southeastern Conference Championship
  • Only gymnast with five All-America first-team honors in NCAA competition
  • Nation’s only gymnast with All-America first-team honors for each apparatus in 2022 WCGA regular-season awards.
  • SEC Gymnast of Year. Won SEC all-around, vault and floor exercise. All-SEC
  • 12 perfect marks is second all-time nationally in a single season. Career total of 20 10.0s ties for No. 7 all-time among NCAA gymnasts. Perfect mark for each of four NCAA floor routines in 2022.
  • Completed career Gym Slam (10.0 in each apparatus) and also posted a Season Slam (10.0 in each event in a single season) in 2022
  • Nation’s all-around high of 39.90 equals the fifth-highest ever in collegiate gymnastics. NCAA all-around title winning total (39.8125) equals NCAA semifinal record and NCAA final winning total (39.8625) equals second highest ever in event. Tallied each of the nation’s top five all-around totals of 2022 – 39.90, 39.875, 39.8625, 39.85 and 39.825.
  • Led Gators with school-record 39 event wins in 2022 – nine vault, floor; eight all-around; seven bars; six beam. UF career leader with 113 wins


2021-22 Honda Sports Award Recipients
Each season, The Collegiate Women Sports Awards program recognizes the top collegiate female student-athlete in 12 sports. Below are the 2022 recipients: 
Sport Name Yr School
Basketball Aliyah Boston JR South Carolina
Cross Country Whittni Orton, SR Brigham Young
Field Hockey Jill Bolton SR Liberty
Golf Rose Zhang FR Stanford
Gymnastics Trinity Thomas SR Florida
Lacrosse Jamie Ortega SR North Carolina
Soccer Jaelin Howell SR Florida State
Softball Jocelyn Alo SR Oklahoma
Swimming/Diving Kate Douglass JR Virginia
Tennis Peyton Stearns SO Texas
Track & Field Abby Steiner SR Kentucky
Volleyball Dana Rettke SR Wisconsin

Honda Contributes to Each School:
American Honda Motor Co., Inc., sponsor of the program, celebrates each nominee by donating $5,000 to each Honda Sports Award recipient school and $1,000 to each nominee school.

Gator Honda Sports Award Recipients
Name Sport Year
Trinity Thomas Gymnastics 2022
Yanis David Track & Field 2019
Rhamat Alhassan Volleyball 2018
Belinda Woolcock Tennis 2017
Alex McMurtry Gymnastics 2017
Kelly Barnhill Softball 2017
Bridget Sloan Gymnastics 2016
Lauren Haeger Softball 2015
Kytra Hunter Gymnastics 2015
Bridget Sloan Gymnastics 2013
Kytra Hunter Gymnastics 2012
Kelsey Bruder Softball 2011
Caroline Burckle Swimming 2008
Danielle Fotopoulos Soccer 1998
Jill Craybas Tennis 1996
Nicole Haislett Swimming 1994
Lisa Raymond Tennis 1993
Lisa Raymond Tennis 1992
Shaun Stafford Tennis 1988
Page Dunlap Golf 1986
Deb Richard Golf 1985
Tracy Caulkins Swimming 1984^
Tracy Caulkins Swimming 1983
Tracy Caulkins Swimming 1982^
Ann Woods Gymnastics 1982
Renee Laravie Swimming 1978

^Recipient of Broderick Award (previous name of Collegiate

Woman Athlete of the Year Award

Florida is No. 3 all-time with 26 Honda Award recipients. Gator winners in eight sports leads all programs (Texas and UCLA each with winners in seven different sports).
Visit The Collegiate Women Sports Awards website for more information about this award.

Source link

0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
Previous post After WPIAL Hall of Fame swimming career, Aspinwall native climbs ranks in Marines
Next post United States Takes Next Step in Supporting Innovative Clean Nuclear Technology in Europe